Road Trip

It’s been such a fun weekend! I woke up on Saturday morning and rode my bike to a yoga class at the Women’s Club. It felt great! I have a free 3-punch pass and I will be sad when it’s all used up. Maybe I’ll just sneak in… 

ImageThat seems more realistic than paying for two gym memberships, anyway. After coming home and eating a quick bite of scrambled eggs, I picked up my “little sister.” I volunteered for the program Big Brothers Big Sisters my senior year of high school and I wanted to get involved again in the Missoula Community. We spent a few hours exploring the children’s museum and riding the carousel. 

ImageI enjoy the program, but it can be frustrating at times. A child’s progress is far from linear and celebrating small victories is key, so I try to keep things light and fun. The difference in background between the children I nanny and my little sister is like night and day, and it really emphasizes how much of an affect our environment has on us. All I can hope is that the small amount of hours per week I spend with her are enough to make an impact. Okay, end rant! Yesterday was a good day with her and we had a lot of fun! 

I came home, packed a duffel bag, and hopped in the car to drive to Bozeman. My “uncle” Dan has been directing a play called “The Last Five Years” for the last few weeks and he put me up in a hotel so that I could come see it. When I rolled into town, I met Dan and his cousin Mary for dinner at Starkey’s. 

ImageI had a salad with candied walnuts, avocado, dried cranberries, chicken, and balsamic vinaigrette. It was so good! I need to recreate it at home. Then I came to my hotel room to check in and shower before the play. My room is gigantic! I have a kitchen, living room, separate bedroom, and a bathroom with a walk in closet. Good thing too, I needed all that space for the wild party I was planning to throw. 😛 (haha…not). A hot shower and a fresh outfit after driving always feel so lovely. 

ImageThe play was in a tiny black box theater that allowed the audience members to be several feet away from the actors. The songs were catchy and well performed, the play was original, and it even made me cry on several occasions. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable night. 

ImageThen I came back to my room, crawled into bed, and watched some tv before bed. Staying in a hotel by myself always feels like such a treat! 

ImageAmen. I’m meeting up with Dan and Mary for brunch before hitting the road. Have a great Sunday! 

What’s the best play you’ve ever seen? 

 

Leave a Reply

