Back to a Healthy Lifestyle Blog

I started this blog in order to have an outlet for my writing, but being unsure what I wanted the content to consist of has kept me from being consistent. My last blog, which reached a somewhat substantial readership, was about healthy eating and exercise with fun tidbits of life thrown in. I’ve decided to maintain that format on this new medium in the interest of combing three of the things I love: food, fitness, and writing! 🙂

With that said, let’s talk about workouts. I love having more free time in the summer to exercise and get active. For the last three weeks I’ve been doing Jillian Michael’s “Ripped in 30” DVD 3 days a week.

51CKwosFJvL

 

It’s such  a great workout! Each segment is only 25 minutes long, but man oh man do you get your workout. I’m on week three right now and all the cardio consists of jumping lunges, squat jumps, squat jacks, plank jacks…not easy. I’ve noticed a big change already and am looking forward to keeping up this workout at least 1-2 days a week when the 30 day program is over.

In addition to this circuit workout, on the other days I either take Elsa for a long walk, run, bike, or do some Zuuuumba baby!

Zumba_-4493

 

I always make sure to take a rest day and to switch up what muscles I work if I’m super sore.

Stay tuned for daily workouts, quick meal options, and more! Right now I’m on the hunt for recipes that do not involve turning on my oven. I live in an old house with no AC and my wallet is going to be much thinner if I keep going out for cool salads and pitas! Any suggestions??

Leave a Reply

