Tips for a Smoother Morning

Getting up and out the door in the morning can be hard sometimes. I’m a major morning person, but there’s a huge difference between waking up to sip coffee at my desk in my pj’s and making it to a 6am spinning class. For this purpose, whether you want to wake up earlier to workout, study, get to an early shift, or just get a jumpstart on your day, I’ve compiled a list of a few things you can do at night to make getting “up and Adam” easier than ever.

 1. The Ten Minute Clean Up

Unknown

Every night I hang up any clothes that were thrown on the floor, put away and organize the homework assignments that have amassed on my desk, fold up my yoga mat if I haven’t already, and just return my room back to glorious order. All this usually takes anywhere from 5-10 minutes total. It is so nice getting out of bed and seeing a space that is clean and ready for me to use, and cleaning at night seems much less daunting than doing it first thing in the morning.

2. Lay Out Your Stuff

dress_1439937c

 I’m all about making it as easy as I can for myself in the mornings. If I’m waking up to do a workout DVD, I get the weights out, lay down the yoga mat, pick my outfit, and put the DVD right on top of my computer. If I’m waking up to study, I lay out the books for the subject I’m going to start with as well as whatever writing utensils I will need. Then, when I wake up to these visual cues of what I need to get done, it’s easy to get out of bed and just do them. 

3. Buy Yummy Breakfast Foods 

tumblr_mwersnPiPU1s5on0yo1_500I don’t know if you’re breakfast person, but I sure am. It’s my favorite meal of the day. If I know that getting out of  bed means getting to eat something yummy like whole wheat waffles, a smoothie, an English muffin, or a breakfast burrito, I’m a lot more likely to do it. Treat yo’ self! 

4. Wake Up To Music 

bale1Because funky tunes are better than a blaring beep that sounds like a truck is backing into your bedroom. And Christian Bale told you to. 

Try these four things and watch your mornings become more productive! 

Leave a Reply

