MCAT Practice Test 1

I took an MCAT practice test yesterday to see where I am in my study process.

TgtbX

ipreferyoucallmedoctor.tumblr.com

How it’s set up: I bought a bank of practice tests from the AAMC and they’re set up exactly how the real MCAT will be. The test is divided into four sections: Biological and Biochemical Foundations of Living Systems, Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems, Psychological and Social Foundations of Behavior, and Critical Analysis and Reasoning Skills.

How it felt: They give you an hour and a half for each section and each one has 60 questions. I’m a fast reader and I finished each section in about half the time, getting through the whole test in three hours instead of the allotted six. Usually this strategy works for me on tests, but I’ll go over why I need to slow down in a minute.

How I did: Not very well. I don’t know what my score would be after it’s transformed into a percentile, but here’s my raw score report.

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 9.36.34 AM

Chemical and physical foundations: 54%.

Critical analysis and reasoning skills: 85%.

Biological and biochemical foundations: 59%.

Psychological, Social, and Biological foundations: 75%.

I was a little surprised when I first got my score back. I did very well in all sections of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Physics. Why was I failing those sections of the test? After going back and reviewing, though, I realized this is a test I need to SLOW DOWN on. I need to take the time to re-read the passages and eliminate answers that are very close to the real one.

Overall, I have a lot more studying to do and need to tweak my actual approach on test day. I learned a lot and I know that with hard work I’ll up my score and be ready on the real day!

 

Leave a Reply

