Semester Goals

I don’t really do New Years resolutions, but I do like to set goals for myself at the start of each semester. I like to look back and figure out the things that didn’t work and the things that helped my success and sanity. I’m hoping by the time I am done with school in a billion years I’ll have this thing down.

  1. Make time for my friends.

I know that I’m not going to have a roaring social life, but I’ll regret it if I look back someday and realize that I never spent time with the people I love. I’m lucky enough to have some pretty incredible friends and last semester I barely saw them. Some weeks I didn’t even see David. Whether that means having study parties, bringing Townes with me to grab coffee with a pal, or just actually taking a day off to enjoy the people in my life…I need to make it a priority.

2. Walk Elsa at least two mornings a week. 

11703384_10153485455208389_8529645799627318870_n

Getting out on a long walk in the morning is such a great way to clear my head and Elsa loves it too! Plus the extra exercise is great for both of us. Especially since it’s my last semester living with my little bean, I need to fit in quality time with me and her. I’m going to miss her so much.

3. Take better care of myself. 

giphy

By the end of last semester I was running on EMPTY. I had headaches that lasted for days, I finished up finals week by getting super sick, exercise became sporadic, and meal prep went out the window. I just can’t keep that up! I am going to get enough sleep, cook healthy meals on weekends for the week, drink lots of water, and take a sick day if I need it.

4. Stay focused on getting into medical school. 

I’ll keep going to my weekly MCAT study group, do more shadowing, keep my grades up, continue volunteering, and start working on application questions. When May rolls around I’ll be more than ready to turn in a competitive application.

It’s going to be another busy one. Still working at the lab, nannying, hanging out with Vuronica, going to school full time, shadowing, and making sure my first three goals happen. It’s going to take a lot of time management and prioritizing, but I know I can do it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

