Lazy Sunday and Monday Motivation

When the alarm went off yesterday morning, the last thing I wanted to do was to crawl out of my warm  bed, leaving behind my cuddly puppy, and emerge into the drizzly, cold morning. Even though I had gotten plenty of sleep, I felt exhausted. But David, my fiancé, left yesterday for his Spring break down in Utah. He had a long drive ahead of him so I wanted to get him some energy drinks and road snacks. So, I sucked it up and got out of bed.

And walked into the SNOW.

img_1604

Somewhere between complaining about getting up and actually getting up, the rain turned into a torrent of fluffy, white snow. It was so pretty. I’m also so over it. Spring? You there? You can come out now!

After delivering my care package to David and saying goodbye, it was time to go pick up my little sister! I volunteer for Big Brothers Big Sisters of Montana and this is Vuronica’s and my fourth year together. I plan to do a full post later on of what this experience has meant to me. When I got to her house she was still literally asleep and I was still mentally asleep, so once she got ready it was time to brunch it out.

img_1602

Burns St. Bistro to the rescue! I felt a little funny ordering two “hangover burgers” with my little sister in tow, but she didn’t seem to notice. After we devoured our meals, we headed to Barnes and Noble. Vuronica loves all things YouTube and they have a huge section there dedicated to the various books written by YouTube stars. I picked up my new book club book while we were there, called “The Denial of Death” by Ernest Becker.

img_1603

I’m sure it’s going to be a bundle of laughs.

The rest of my afternoon was a balance of chores and relaxing Sunday laziness. I prepped veggies for the week and baked a Good Food Store lasagna to eat for dinners.

After doing the bare minimum amount of homework for the day, all I really wanted to do was take some time to relax. I started and finished the sixth Harry Potter snuggled up on the couch. While I did so, Santo completed a thorough investigation of the left corner of the living room.

img_1612

All seems to be in order. I’m still waiting on his full report. As I dove into “The Denial of Death” I started craving something sweet. I went to the freezer and dug out the Halo Top Ice Cream I bought on Saturday. It’s supposed to be all natural, super light and low calorie ice cream. It’s made with things like “milk protein” and “xanthan gum”. It’s also 17 thousand dollars.

img_1617

Verdict? Not my favorite. You can’t expect something that’s 200 calories a pint to contain the full gloriousness of Haagen Dazs, but this mostly just tasted like air and had a funny aftertaste. I’d rather save my money and have real ice cream once in a while, but I’m glad I tried it out.

I called it a night really early so that I could be well-rested for this busy week.

Monday Motivation (aka Goals for this Week)

  1. Study after work today and early tomorrow morning for my lab practical. I’ve got all the cadaver concepts down, so now it’s just powerpoints. This is easy but I still have to DO it.
  2. Stick to my workout plan.
  3. Don’t eat out.
  4. Schedule all the random appointments I’ve been meaning to schedule: teeth cleaning, Santo’s vet checkup, meet with my advisor, etc.

What are your goals for the week?? 

 

Leave a Reply

